Courtesy Jesper Lund - This Orient

Landon METZ

Born in 1985, he lives and works in New York.

Landon Metz’s practice revolves around the activity of painting, yet also incorporates the vocabulary of sculpture. His biomorphic shapes abstract paintings are tools used to get a boarder conversation with architecture and to engage viewer experience in a kind of choregraphy. Each installation is site-responsive rather than site-specific, and works as a point of departure.
Through the repetition of the same compositional arrangements, often in sequence and beyond the margin of the canvas, Metz evokes visual dynamism and sense of movement, as well as infinitude, collapsing time and possible connection to nature.
Silence, rhythm and repetition are all heavily influential and stem from his relationship to music.

His work has been widely exhibited in the United States and the rest of the world, including Villa Medici, Rome (2018), DNA Collection, Bolzano (2014) and Retrospective, Hudson (2014), as well as solo exhibitions at galleries Sean Kelly, New York (2018), von Bartha, Basel (2018), Andersen’s, Copenhagen (2017) Massimo Minini and Francesca Minini (2016).
Landon Metz is also the co-founder of Off-White Publications.

Von Bartha (Bale)

Francesca Minini (Milan)

Massimo Minini (Brescia)

Sean Kelly (New York)

Artworks

Untitled, 2018

Silkscreen on paper

16 x 20 in. / 40,6 x 50,8 in.

Discover the artwork

Untitled, 2018

Dye on canvas

50 x 40 in. / 127 x 101.6 cm (each panel) - Diptych

Discover the artwork
Previous artist
Next artist

Discover the artworks

Browse the collection

Courtesy Jesper Lund - This Orient

Landon METZ

Né en 1985, il vit et travaille à New York.

La pratique de Landon Metz s’articule autour de la peinture mais intègre également le vocabulaire de la sculpture. Ses peintures abstraites aux formes biomorphiques sont des outils permettant d’interagir avec l’architecture et de susciter l’engagement du regardeur dans une sorte de chorégraphie à trois. Chaque installation de ses oeuvres est sensible au site plutôt que spécifique au site et fonctionne comme un point de départ.
Par la répétition des mêmes compositions, souvent séquentielle et allant au-delà de la marge de la toile, Metz évoque le dynamisme visuel et le sens du mouvement, ainsi que l’infini, l’extraction du temps et le lien possible avec la nature.
Le silence, le rythme et la répétition ont tous une grande influence et découlent de sa relation à la musique.

Son travail a été largement exposé aux États-Unis et dans le reste du monde, notamment à la Villa Médicis, Rome (2018), à l’ADN Collection, Bolzano (2014) et au Retrospective, Hudson (2014) ainsi que dans des expositions individuelles aux galeries Sean Kelly, New York (2018), Von Bartha, Bale (2018), Andersen’s, Copenhague (2017) Massimo Minini et Francesca Minini (2016). Landon Metz est également le cofondateur de Off-White Publications.

Von Bartha (Bale)

Francesca Minini (Milan)

Massimo Minini (Brescia)

Sean Kelly (New York)

Ses œuvres

Untitled, 2018

Sérigraphie sur papier

40,6 x 50,8 cm (x2) Diptyque

Découvrir l'œuvre

Untitled, 2018

Teinture sur toile

127 x 101.6 cm (chaque panneau) - Diptyque

Découvrir l'œuvre
Artiste précédent
Artiste suivant

Découvrez la collection

Voir toutes les oeuvres