The building at 53 quai d’Orsay in Paris is an incredible art deco-style edifice, with a surface area of 9000 square meters, built between 1933 and 1937 by the architect Raymond Boudier as the headquarters of the SEITA, a state-owned company that operated the tobacco monopoly in France. Today it is where the Bredin Prat law firm is located, as well as the Bredin Prat Foundation for Contemporary Art, which since 2018 has opened the building to the public for regular visits.

The building and its district

Leafing through the Historical Dictionary of the Streets of Paris, we discover that “the whole quadrangle delineated by quai d’Orsay, rue Surcouf, rue de l’Université, and rue Jean Nicot was occupied from 1829 to 1909 by a large tobacco factory, subsequently transferred to Issy-les-Moulineaux. The dictionary also states that “this factory, known as the ‘Gros Caillou factory,’ had, in 1870, 2,000 workers paid three francs per day for men and two francs for women.” The site at 53 quai d’Orsay formed part of that factory.

The building’s architecture

Above the majestic entrance, the passer-by on quai d’Orsay can still see the trademark of the SEITA, the former owner of the premises, chiseled into the stone and forged into the wrought iron work of the doors.

Built in the 1930s, this six-floor building is an excellent illustration of the architectural trends of the period: symmetrical façade in beige marble, monumental entrance with a columned loggia, wide landscape windows looking on to the River Seine, friezes depicting workers producing tobacco and the “good master” above all the entrances to the building, the interior courtyard in red brick, with circular “porthole” windows. There is a very marked contrast between the austerity of the exterior façade in beige marble and the gaiety of the façade of the vast courtyard.

Inside: Behind the entrance hall, which is a vast space with breathtakingly high ceilings, there is an impressive staircase with bronze handrails and patina metal railings embossed with the tobacco leaf symbol, within a bay-windowed stairwell in opaque glass engraved with geometrical patterns designed by Lalique. In addition to the elevators, two other similar staircases lead to the upper floors of offices which mostly have wide windows, affording magnificent views of the River Seine. Lastly, flooring, ceilings, and architectural details in mosaic, faience, stucco, and glass are present throughout the building.

The building surrounds a large rectangular courtyard with a verdant garden of magnolias and a variety of plants, which is bordered both on its left and right parallel sides by fully glassed-in spacious walkways creating a cloister-like atmosphere of peace. From there, the visitor can admire the pure and massive lines of the red-bricked edifice, all in right angles, punctuated by the occasional large “porthole” window.

The former headquarters of the SEITA (7th arrondissement in Paris) were entirely re-modernized between 2000 and 2002 by the architects Jean-Michel Wilmotte and François Braun.

Since 2016: the exhibition space for the collection of the Bredin Prat Fund for Contemporary Art and the Bredin Prat law firm HQ

Renovated by Architral in 2015, the building’s six floors can provide office space for up to around 500 people. The Bredin Prat law firm occupies nearly the whole of the building.

The firm’s conference rooms for meetings with clients are found on the ground floor and garden level. Each room has its own style: wall-coverings, furniture, works of art, and all are equipped with videoconferencing facilities, video projectors and conference phones.

The ground floor and garden level are also where works of art from the Fund’s own collection or those it has on loan are exhibited. It is here that the temporary exhibitions for the Jean-François Prat Prize are held each year.

From the first floor upwards, the lawyers’ offices fill most of the building.

Lastly, on the top floor, we find the firm’s library law, spectacular for its contemporary Gothic arched ceiling, designed by Jean-Michel Wilmotte and François Braun and conserved from their redesign work in 2002. The library is also spectacular for its view: to the south over the dome of Les Invalides and the Montparnasse Tower, and to the north the Eiffel Tower and the building’s huge red-brick courtyard and its Lalique glazed stairwell.

Three terraces overlooking the courtyard, on the ground floor, first floor and sixth floor, can be used for receptions or to enjoy a moment of peace.

Places
http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Façade-1.jpg

Frontage 53 quai d’Orsay

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Grand-Hall-1.jpg

Main lobby

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Jardin-intérieur-4.jpg

Interior garden

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Verrière-Lalique-Grand-escalier-3.jpg

Main staircase by Lalique

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Détail-architectural-4.jpg

Architectural details

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Vue-1-.jpg

Paris Views

Frontage of 53 quai d’Orsay PARIS 7
Frontage of 53 quai d’Orsay PARIS 7
Frontage of 53 quai d’Orsay PARIS 7
Frontage of 53 quai d’Orsay PARIS 7
Frontage of 53 quai d’Orsay PARIS 7
Interior frontage of 53 quai d’Orsay PARIS 7
Main Lobby of 53 quai d'Orsay 75007 Paris
Main Lobby of 53 quai d'Orsay 75007 Paris
Interior garden of 53 quai d'Orsay 75007 Paris
Interior garden of 53 quai d'Orsay 75007 Paris
Interior garden of 53 quai d'Orsay 75007 Paris
Interior garden of 53 quai d'Orsay 75007 Paris
Main staircase by Lalique, outside view
Main staircase by Lalique, outside view
Main staircase by Lalique, outside view
Main staircase by Lalique
Main staircase by Lalique
A staircase of the building decorated by Mosaic floor and tobacco colors
The main staircase of 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
The decor of the main staircase featuring tobacco leaves and a salamander
A typical 1930's style interior staircase of the building
The pattern designed by Lalique for the main staircase of 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
View of the Grand Palais from 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
View of the Invalides and Montparnasse tower from 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
View of the Eiffel tower from 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
View from the interior courtyard of the 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7

Visit the exhibitions

Book a tour

L’immeuble du 53 quai d’Orsay à Paris est un incroyable bâtiment de 9000 m2 de style Art déco édifié entre 1933 et 1937 sous la direction de l’architecte Raymond Boudier, pour servir de siège social à la SEITA, société publique détenant le monopole des tabacs en France. Aujourd’hui, il est le siège du cabinet d’avocats d’affaires Bredin Prat et du Fonds de dotation Bredin Prat pour l’art contemporain, qui l’ouvre au public depuis 2018 par des visites gratuites régulières.

L’Immeuble et son quartier

Tout le quadrilatère compris entre le quai d’Orsay et les rues Surcouf, de l’Université́, & Jean Nicot a été́ occupé de 1829 à 1909 par une importante manufacture de tabac, transportée depuis à Issy-les-Moulineaux, apprend-on en feuilletant le dictionnaire historique des rues de Paris. « Cette manufacture, dite du Gros Caillou, occupait en 1870, 2 000 ouvriers payes trois francs par jour pour les hommes et deux francs par jour pour les femmes ». Le 53 Quai d’Orsay en faisait partie.

L’Architecture de l’immeuble

Au-dessus de la majestueuse entrée, le passant du quai d’Orsay trouve toujours aujourd’hui la marque de la Seita, l’ancien propriétaire du lieu, burinée directement dans la pierre et fondue dans les ferronneries des portes.

Construit dans les années 1930, cet immeuble de 6 étages est une excellente illustration des tendances architecturales de l’époque : façade extérieure symétrique en marbre beige, entrée monumentale avec loggia de colonnes, larges fenêtres format paysage avec vue sur la Seine, frises relatant le travail du tabac et le « bon maître » au dessus de toutes les entrées du bâtiment, façade intérieure du bâtiment (côté cour) en briques rouges, cour intérieure, hublots. On note un très fort contraste entre l’austérité de la façade extérieure en marbre beige et la gaieté de celle qui donne sur la très large cour intérieure.

A l’intérieur : On accède depuis le hall d’accueil, un vaste espace coiffé de plafonds aux hauteurs vertigineuses, à un impressionnant escalier aux rampes de bronze et aux gardes corps de métal patiné embossés du symbole des feuilles de tabac, dans une cage de verre sablé verticale aux motifs géométriques créés par Lalique. Outre les ascenseurs, deux autres escaliers du même type mènent aux étages de bureaux pour la plupart dotés de larges fenêtres, dont plusieurs offrent de magnifiques vues sur la Seine. Enfin, sols, plafonds, et détails architecturaux en mosaïques, faïences, stucs, et verreries sont toujours présents dans le bâtiment.

L’immeuble, qui encadre une large cour extérieure occupée par un jardin arboré de magnolias et de multiples essences, offre dans son aile gauche comme dans son aile droite un espace de circulation entièrement vitré au calme semblable à un cloitre. De là, le visiteur peut apprécier les lignes pures et massives de l’édifice de briques rouges. Tout en angles droits, flanqué de quelques hublots.

La restructuration de l’ancien siège social de la Seita (Paris VIIe) a eu lieu de 2000 à 2002 sous la direction des architectes Jean-Michel Wilmotte et François Braun.

Depuis 2016 : le lieu d’exposition du Fonds de dotation Bredin Prat pour l’art contemporain et le siège du cabinet Bredin Prat

Ré agencé par l’agence Architral mi-2015, les six étages que compte le bâtiment peuvent accueillir environ 500 personnes. Le cabinet d’avocats d’affaires Bredin Prat occupe la quasi-totalité de l’immeuble.

Au rez-de-chaussée et au rez-de-jardin, ont été́ installées les salles de réunions du cabinet déstinées aux clients. Chaque salle est dotée d’un style différent : murs, mobiliers, œuvres d’art et toutes sont équipées pour les visioconférences, vidéo projections, conférence calls.

Le rez de chaussée et le rez de jardin servent de lieu d’exposition pour la collection d’art contemporain du Fonds de dotation et les prêts d’œuvres d’art qui lui sont accordés. Il accueille également les expositions temporaires du Prix Jean-François Prat chaque année.

A l’étage, les bureaux des avocats occupent la quasi-totalité de l’immeuble.

Enfin au 6ème étage, la bibliothèque de droit du cabinet est un espace très spectaculaire d’abord pour son design en forme de voute gothique contemporaine, conservée de la précédente restructuration de l’immeuble en 2002 créée par Jean-Michel Wilmotte et François Braun. Mais la bibliothèque est aussi spectaculaire par la vue : au Sud sur le dôme des Invalides et la Tour Montparnasse, et au nord sur la tour Eiffel et sur l’immense cour intérieur en brique rouge du bâtiment et son escalier vertical en verres de chez Lalique.

Trois terrasses intérieures au rez de chaussée, 1er étage et 6ème étage permettent des réceptions ou moments de détente.

Lieux
http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Façade-1.jpg

La Façade

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Grand-Hall-1.jpg

Le Grand Hall

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Jardin-intérieur-4.jpg

Le Jardin Intérieur

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Verrière-Lalique-Grand-escalier-3.jpg

La Verrière Lalique & le Grand escalier

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Détail-architectural-4.jpg

Les Détails architecturaux

http://www.bredinpratfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Vue-1-.jpg

Les Vues sur Paris

Façade du 53 quai d'Orsay PARIS 7
Façade du 53 quai d'Orsay PARIS 7
Façade du 53 quai d'Orsay PARIS 7
Façade du 53 quai d'Orsay PARIS 7
Façade intérieure du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Grand Hall du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Grand Hall du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Jardin Intérieur du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Jardin Intérieur du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Jardin Intérieur du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Jardin Intérieur du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
La Verrière Lalique & le Grand escalier
La Verrière Lalique depuis la cour intérieure
La Verrière Lalique depuis la cour intérieure
Le grand escalier
Le grand escalier
Le grand escalier
Un escalier et les paliers de mosaïque couleur tabac
Le garde corps du grand escalier
Le garde corps du grand escalier frappé de feuilles de tabac et de la salamandre
Un autre escalier de style années 1930 du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Le motif des vitraux de la verrière Lalique
Vue sur le Grand Palais depuis le 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Vue sur le Dôme des Invalides et la Tour Montparnasse depuis le 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Vue sur la Tour Eiffel depuis le 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7
Vue depuis la cour intérieure du 53 quai d'Orsay Paris 7

Venez visiter les expositions

Voir les dates